Thank You

142004194470138886_zzjkurbS_fNormally, I try to make a point of responding to comments left on my blog individually.  I think it’s important to treat each one as if it were part of an on-going conversation and never, ever to take them for granted.  However, this time I’m making an exception because if I were to do that where my last post is concerned I would be simply writing the same thing over and over again and that would be a great big

THANK YOU

As you might imagine, my confidence had taken something of a beating but each one of you has helped to soften the blow and many of you have offered me new ways of thinking about what it is I want to achieve and how I intend to go about doing it.  Not the least, you have made me question whether or not working through official academic channels is the most productive way forward.  Reading through some of the comments that have been left on this and other blogs in recent weeks has brought home to me just how many active thinkers about literature there are in the blogging world, thinkers who are not necessarily aligned to any academic institution but who, nevertheless, offer discussions every bit as insightful and penetrating as those that might be offered by readers bound by the strictures of funding councils and academic league tables

As a result, I am going to follow Theseus’s advice to Hermia in A Midsummer Night’s Dream and ‘take time to pause’ in order to think about how else I might forward either this project or one other that I have had in mind for some time primarily through a blogging platform.  To misquote from Cymbeline:

Hath academia all the sun that shines? Day, night,

Are they not but in academia? I’th’world’s volume

Our academia seems as of it but not in’t,

In a great pool a swan’s nest.  Prithee think

There’s livers out of academia?

So, again, thank you for your support and for your help.  I am really very grateful indeed.

PS. Have you re-read Cymbeline lately?  It’s all about renegotiating a treaty with Europe so that Britain can remain a part of the EU/Roman Empire but on its own terms.  I don’t understand why it isn’t on every stage in the country at the moment.   Shakespeare really is our contemporary.

15 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. Oh Hooray! I am so glad you haven’t given up and I am certain you will find a way forward that is satisfying in many ways! I have not read Cymbeline once, I know *hangs head in shame*

    1. One of my students said that she sat down to read it and it was such a page turner she didn’t get up until she’d finished it. I’m not certain I would go that far, Stefanie, but it’s worth a look.

    1. I think you have to have access to the system to realise just how invidious this new regime is, Litlove. I am going to go forward with some research but I shall definitely look for a different platform. Thank goodness I’m not bound by the need to toe the line for my living.

  2. It’s a horrible feeling to have your confidence knocked but I’m so glad to know that you’re starting to bounce back. You mention an idea with a blogging platform, I was wondering if there was an opening as a Mooc course??

    1. Most MOOCs are linked to Universities, Karen and the courses they offer are driven by what they think will make money for them in the long run. In other words, they have to have impact as well.

  3. Glad you feel helped by the comments you’ve had – the benefit of sharing worries and upsets as well as celebrations on one’s blog! And best wishes as you go forward. I like not being tied to a University for my work, although it’s desperately important to have peers to bounce ideas off and at least one person in your life who can explain Russian Formalism to you!

Your thoughts are welcome

