Around the World in 80 Books

Library-Of-Birmingham-opening-21-5835412With apologies to all the rest of my readers, this is aimed particularly at those of you who live within easy reach of Birmingham or who might be interested enough to travel down and spend a night.  As part of the Library of Birmingham’s Cultures Season they are hosting a readers’ day on Saturday March 29th on the topic Around the World in 80 Books.  To quote their own publicity handout, speakers will include

Girl With a Pearl Earring superstar Tracy Chevalier, and Richard and Judy Book Club bestseller Beatrice Colin, along with a feast of other exciting writers and reading from across the world.

Discover some of the best books on favourite world cities and countries in the company of some of their most passionate enthusiasts!

Bestselling writers, publishers, translators, cultural officers with interviews, presentations, workshops, competitions, event bookshop, and goody bags to make this a truly unforgettable readers’ day …

You can see the programme for the whole day, which runs from 9.30am to 4.30pm, here and it looks particularly interesting, if very full.  I know that there are other readers out there who have, like Ann Morgan, set themselves the task of reading around the world and you in particular might find it interesting to hear how she has managed to locate novels from some of those more difficult countries that I know have given you grief.  Personally I’m looking forward to listening to the speakers from Peirene Press, whose catalogue always intrigues me.  I should perhaps at this point issue a warning.  There will be a bookshop on site!

I have been to similar days organised by the Library before and with one notable exception they have all been excellent, so I’m going to stick my neck out and say do come, you will have a great day.  If any of you do decide to attend then please let me know because it would be wonderful to actually meet up and have lunch together.  It’s the one thing that would make a whole day spent talking about books even better.

20 thoughts on “Around the World in 80 Books

  1. I hope you have a good time at what sounds to be an interesting event. I love the idea of reading around the world. The bit of a Rough Guide guide I always turn to first is the list of books recommended. Roy Heath’s Guyana, Endo’s Japan and Alice Munro’s Canada and so many other writer/place fiictions.

    1. I didn’t know that Rough Guides gave that sort of information, Ian. I’m afraid I’m not a great traveller. There’s a good reason to buy the Guides though.

  2. This sounds like a brilliant day, Alex. I can’t go but will be emailing all friends within a train journey of Birmingham. I’m looking forward to Ann Morgan’s book, although I don’t think it’s published until next year.

  3. Their website is down so I can’t get to see the full array of the delights on offer. Next challenge is to see if I can persuade my nearest and dearest to take me to Birmingham for a weekend.

    1. I thought about you as soon as I saw what the topic was going to be, Karen. It would be great if you could come. The site is back up now if you want to check out the details.

    1. I’m going to have to make sure I keep some time to one side to actually think them through and write about them. You can have too much of a good thing is you’re not careful.

Your thoughts are welcome

