Panic Stricken!

PanicHelp!  I have suddenly realised that this month the first Monday and the second Wednesday fall in the same week.  Consequently, I have thirty-six hours between having to lead one book group in a discussion of Jhumpa Lahiri’s novel, The Namesake, and taking part in a second group’s discussion on Franny Moyle’s Constance: the Tragic and Scandalous Life of Mrs Oscar Wilde.  Given everything else that’s in the diary for this week I am going to have to spend every spare minute reading (nothing unusual there) but also pinch some extra spare minutes from the blogging world.  Normal service will be resumed as soon as possible.  Be good while I’m away.

15 thoughts on “Panic Stricken!

  1. Jhumpa Lahiri’s short stories are also excellent (another mission for you to perform! Ha! ha!) If I’m not mistaken, the name of the volume is “Interpretor of Maladies,” the same as one of the stories.

    1. I love those stories and I am not really a short story fan. It was how I first ‘met’ Lahiri and I still think they are her best work. We had a really good discussion yesterday and when I’ve got through tomorrow’s discussion of the Constance Wilde biography I’ll come back and write about it. Not so enamoured of the biography, I’m afraid. Does no one edit books these days?

  2. I’ll be delighted to read your discussions on Lahiri’s novel The Namesake. She is one of my favorite writers and this is a highly interesting book. The movie adaptation is very good too. Maybe your group could have a chance to see it together after your read. 😉

    1. My other group is the one that couples books and films so perhaps I could suggest it to them. I haven’t seen the film, but I must look it out now.

    1. I have now been through my diary and made sure I know in advance when this is going to happen. What I really have to do is make sure that I’m not leading either of the discussions that month.

    1. One down and one to go. The Lahiri discussion was great but I have a feeling that the woman who chore the biography is now wishing that she hadn’t. In which thought I would have to agree with her.

    1. Exactly, and that takes a lot of the pleasure away. Especially when one of the books is not one I would normally have chosen to read myself.

  3. Ha! I have done something very similar, only longer-term, and am now booked up to the eyeballs until the end of June. Will I never learn? No, don’t answer that one….. 🙂

Your thoughts are welcome

