Normal Service Will Be Resumed As Soon As Possible

37788084343093605_97fq9uva_fThis is just to let you know that I will be going dark and silent for a while.  I have been having terrible problems with my server for the past ten days and it has got to the point where trying to post or to read and respond to others is almost impossible.  At the moment my service provider is being extremely polite but basically worse than useless when it comes to sorting the problem out.  Once the University has opened again after Easter I should be able to check in every now and again, but otherwise I shall be having down time!

Take care of yourselves while I’m away and don’t do anything The Bears wouldn’t do (which gives you no end of latitude:)).

6 thoughts on “Normal Service Will Be Resumed As Soon As Possible

  1. I will wait patiently to hear from you again, Alex, as your posts are always worth waiting for. One thing: this may be the fault of my computer and not of your site, but out of all the WordPress sites I visit, yours is one of only two where, when I click on the button to comment, the cursor freezes on the page for at least 1/2 minute to a minute and I have to press “Escape” and wait for it to come to life again. This may have something to do with loading time or it may not, I don’t know enough about computers to be sure. Anyway, it’s always worth the wait to hear from you and to be able to exchange comments, so I’ll continue by this method if necessary; just thought I would mention it in case it has something to do with your server.

    1. I’m sorry about the problems you’re having at your end. As anything I post comes to you through the WordPress server I can’t think that the problem is at this end, but then what do I know? I just type it in, press the button and hope:)

  2. Hope it all gets sorted out soon. Those darn service providers lack any sense of urgency. We’ve had trouble with our cable modem before and they tell us, well we can have someone out in five days between the hours of 8 and noon or you can take your modem to the service office and exchange it. Office hours are Monday – Friday from 10-3 and the “local” office isn’t very local. Sigh. All that to say, I feel your frustration!

Your thoughts are welcome

